Allergies v1.4

Well, here we are, right at two months into the journey.  From January 30th to today, with FIVE trips to the vet, three bags of gold dust kibble, four ear meds, and a seriously restrictive diet…

What were we counting?   Sissy’s steps to a healthy body.  Poor gal.  I don’t think either of us realized how out of sorts she was.   Her tummy still rumbles more than I think it should, but we’re getting there.

The good news?  We’re off the “come back in two weeks for a check-up” schedule.  Wondervet is going to call me (get that?  I don’t have to call her…) to check on the new routine in a couple of weeks, but as long as everything goes as expected, we’ll just ride this out a little while longer, and see if we can’t get rid of all the ear scratching and gas.  They are the remnants of the laundry list of symptoms Sis had two months ago.

Can I eat snow?!

It hasn’t been easy, fun or cheap.  We still have a bunch of biscuits to pack up and share with our friends.   Honestly, there isn’t much out there commercially she can eat.  If it has any meat in it other than rabbit, it’s out.  If it has corn 0f ANY sort in it, she can’t have it.  We found a great spot for gluten-free products today, and I’ll blog about that soon.

In the midst of all of this, Sis was also told to lose weight.  She’s down to 48 lbs. as of today, and that was after eating not long before we left for the vet’s.  She also got her annual shots today, including that Bordetella injection up the nose, and still cuddled with Wondervet before we left.  I’m so proud of her for being sweet and good throughout it all!

8 Responses to “Allergies v1.4”

  1. gaylen Says:

    What! I was just looking at the photos thinking she looked fabulous! What I wouldnt’ give for a waist like that. g

  2. Sue Says:

    Chan,
    Can she have ground oats and barley? I’ve found some treats for my guys with no wheat, corn or gluten. If she can have either of those let me know and I’ll send you the list of ingredients.

  3. Dianne Says:

    Yay for Sissy! I’m so glad you have such a good, caring vet.

  4. Toni Gomez Says:

    Hang in there Sissy… You are in great hands… Keep up the good work girlfriends. Dexter sends love to all too!

  5. scrabblequeen Says:

    I’m having trouble understanding a dog who can’t eat meat? Isn’t protein the most natural componant of a “wild” canine’s diet? No criticism, just curious. And rabbit? How did y’all figure that out?

  6. Knitting it Out Says:

    Great pics, and sheesh isn’t this vet business a pain.

  7. nichole Says:

    Yea Sis! 🙂

  8. Terrie Says:

    I’m glad things are continuing to go well for Sissy! Yay for the wondervt, too 🙂

    I’ve always thought Charlie had a sensitive stomach, but recently found out she may be alergic to chicken and grains! I’ve switched foods and both cats are doing well. Fingers crossed they are eating the “right” food now and won’t have any more problems!

Leave a Reply

