Sight Hound?

Happy Dogs on Thursday!  I’m really afraid Mama is too caught up in her yarn-bloggy week stuff to remember to post, so I’ve taken matters into my own hands  paws.

Oh – pardon me…  Gretchen here.  Sissy has been quite full of herself recently, so I’m covering things here.   I know Mama wanted to share this photo and point out – as she does to Sis regularly – that bassets are SCENT hounds, not SIGHT hounds.  Sissy isn’t one to get hung up on details… 

She forgets that even if I stand on my hind feet, I can’t see the things she sees.    I’m constantly reminding her of that, and other things she forgets when she gets all wrapped up in whatever she’s doing at the moment. 

I’m rather sure Mama wouldn’t want you to see that photo what with the power cord at our heads and all, but as you can see, it’s perfectly safe because *I* am making sure Sis knows it is there and that she must be careful.   (Note from the editor:  Dadaw was working on his shed, and the dogs aren’t generally allowed out there while the cord is in place.)

Perhaps I sound rather full of myself, and that surely is not my intent.   Mama says I’m the little lady of the house, while Dadaw calls Sissy a redneck woman.  I don’t think that’s very nice, but Sis thinks it’s funny and hollars right back at him…

Have a great weekend!

9 Responses to “Sight Hound?”

  1. gmarie Says:

    Happy DOT you two! Gretchen you sure do crack me up and make me smile. How would you like a BIG sister? Your mom said I could come live with you – Lucy.

  2. Hey! Look! « Chan Knits Says:

    […] very sweetly did a dog post for me on their blog this morning.    She did indeed cover what I had in mind, based on photos I took earlier this […]

  3. StarSpry Says:

    I’m glad that you’re there to look after Sissy, Gretchen! Great photos of you both 🙂

  4. Nichole Says:

    Cute pics girls! 🙂

  5. scrabblequeen Says:

    LOL…love Miss Bretchen whispering in Sissy’s ear! And quite right, too, that not getting hung up on the details thing….Glad someone’s posting over here, since our mom hasn’t let us get a word in for weeks.

    Sasha and Misty woof!

  6. Kathy Says:

    Gretchen, I’m with Sissy, scent is the way to go. Although a little sight now and again is quiet entertaining as well.

    My mom is always wrapped up in something other than me but I guess it’s ok as long as the treats keep coming.

    paw hugs,
    Mr. Bettis

  7. Dawn Says:

    Fabulous pics girlies!

  8. Sue Says:

    Wow Sissy, you sure are one tall girl when you stand up like that. It seems like you doggie mom never told you that you’re a scent hound and never taught you to bay. I guess it’s a good thing you have Gretchen around to remind you of these things.

  9. Dianne Says:

    Awww, you girls are so precious!

Leave a Reply

