Clumps of Stuff

Sis here.  Funny how important events seem to get clumped together on the calendar.  The week of my birthday is full of stuff to celebrate, and so is this week. 

Sunday would have been Pop‘s 89th birthday.

DSC00154

Pop and me, April 2007

He was my buddy and I still miss him.

DSCN1324

Mugsy and me, April 2008

Monday marked two years without Mugsy, my big brother.  I wasn’t built to be an only child, and I missed him terribly… still do.

There are a bunch of human birthdays around here too, and since Mama can’t remember to say so, we wish all of our August friends a very happy birthday.

However, this coming Sunday is a big day for my little sister.   Little Miss Gretchen will be two whole years old!

DSCN2074

October 23, 2008

I wasn’t so sure about her when they brought her home, on my birthday-eve, of all days!

DSCN2401

Us in Pop's chair, about a year ago

But she grew on me – literally.  She’s a cute little thing, and I do love it when Mama tells me what a wonderful big sister I am…

So happy Dogs on Thursday and everything else!  I’m sure Mama will make us dress up and take lots of photos at some point over the weekend…

14 Responses to “Clumps of Stuff”

  1. Bubblesknits Says:

    Love that 3rd picture! LOL

  2. Dianne Says:

    Sissy, dear, you are indeed a wonderful big sister! Give little Gretchie birthday kisses from all of us, and sloppy wet kisses to your mom to help her through a rough week.

    Emma, Tara and Cooper

  3. I get the message… « Chan Knits Says:

    […] If you’re here for Dogs on Thursday, please visit the girls’ blog, because Sis did a really sweet tribute post.  […]

  4. Sue Says:

    My dogs keep me sane. Some think I must be insane to have so many dogs, but they help me thru the hard times like no human ever has.

  5. Mary Says:

    You are a great sister! Love your photos. Hard to miss the ones we love, but good to know we still have the capacity to love anew.

  6. gMarie Says:

    great photos! Sis – lucky you you have a wardrobe of tutus to choose from. Momma won’t make you wear real clothing! g

  7. Robin in VA Says:

    AWWWWWW, what a sweet post…somebody hand me the tissues please!

  8. Marjie Says:

    The puppy picture is funny! Gretchen was so little. It’s nice that Sissy doesn’t like to be an only dog. Nice pictures; Happy Dogs on Thursday!

  9. Nichole Says:

    Great post! Happy Birthday Girls! ♥

  10. scrabblequeen Says:

    Awww….you’re both such cute dogs! How good you are to remend everyone that Gretchie’s birthday is coming right up, too.

  11. Anita Says:

    Awwww, I love all of those photos! 🙂 Give Gretchie a big birthday smooch from Auntie Nita for me.

  12. Terrie Says:

    Happy birthday, Gretchen!! I love all the pictures 🙂

  13. Monica (aka monnibo) Says:

    Aw lovely post, photos, and everything. Getting misty here!

  14. KnittingitOut Says:

    I love this post. Odd how so much can happen in the same time frame. Love that look on Gretchen’s face in the last picture.

Leave a Reply

