Stuck Like Glue

DSCN2394

July 2009, but a very regular sight

Happy Dogs on Thursday and little friday!  Gretchen here…  Sissy and I were going to write this one together, but she’s wandered off, probably trying to raid the kitchen again… 

gMarie and Mama had a chat earlier this week about the soundtracks of their lives.   Sissy and I love music too, especially when Mama or Dadaw sings to us!

Sissy’s iPod would definitely have these songs on it:

Sugarland’s Stuck Like Glue – because girlfriend IS happiest when she’s stuck like glue to Dadaw, Mama or me.  (Or any of her special people…) 

Gretchen Wilson’s Redneck Woman – because well… do you REALLY have to ask? 

August 2010 008Uncle Kracker’s Smile – because Mama sings this song to both of us all the time.

My playlist would be similar, because like most little sisters, Sis has really shaped my musical tastes, but while Sissy and Dadaw like Gretchen Wilson’s “rather drink beer … than sweet champagne”, I’m more like Mama; we just like bubbles and a pretty fluted glass! 

Here’s what I’d put on my iPod, if Mama or Santa would give me one:

Gretchen Wilson’s Here For the Party – because that’s the song that made Dadaw realize my name was supposed to be Gretchen, and they say I do make my own party.

Bon Jovi’s Who Says You Can’t Go Home – because there isn’t anyplace like home.   (Note:  Mama loves the duet version with Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland best, but turns either version up and sings along.)

Camelot, from the musical – because really… why does it have to rain during waking hours?

May 2010 009The entire soundtrack – both volumes – to Dirty Dancing – because no one puts Baby in the corner.  Really.  Dadaw always scoops me up and points his finger at Mama and Sissy when it gets to that part of the movie.  I strive to live up to their high opinion of me!

Do your dogs respond to music? 

Do you sing to them?

Do certain songs seem to fit your dog(s)?

Are our humans just silly?

7 Responses to “Stuck Like Glue”

  1. Nichole Says:

    Great playlists Gretchie! 🙂
    Lola likes the Bruins GOAL SCORE song… mostly because Mama screams YAY and taps her on the head…
    Tut’s theme song would probably be “Fight for Your Right to ParrrrrrTaaayyyyyyyy”
    Zeus’ loves “I Like Big Butts…….” because, well, you know…….
    Sophie, not so sure…… maybe some Kid Rock…. she was happily cuddled up while Mama had “Born Free” cranking from the CMA performance last night……

  2. Salute! « Chan Knits Says:

    […] fur-girls have a cute post today with a few questions for you at the end.  Of course, they join me here wishing their gramma […]

  3. gMarie Says:

    Hmmm – well I do enjoy Stuck Like Glue – and they are growing on me. Lovely little speach they gave last night, although Brad Paisley’s fabulous!

    Hmmm – mine respond only in the sense that I can’t sing so they will start howling if I sing too loud. 🙂 g

  4. scrabblequeen Says:

    Interesting idea, dogs having ipods. I don’t what I’d put on mine, but yeah, Misty should have definately have “Stuck Like Glue”!! Heh….we should both have “California Girls”….I think.

    Woofs! Sasha (Misty is stuck to mom just now)

  5. Sue Says:

    My dogs like music, especially Tsar. When I play the piano they sit around me watching and listening intently. I don’t sing well, but that doesn’t stop me, especially when I take them out at night. They get all excited and if I howl, they’ll join in. It’s quite a chorus.

  6. Marjie Says:

    I’m an odd duck. I shut off the radio when my first son was born nearly 27 years ago, and have never turned it back on. My household conversations are the sweet music of my life; I have even cherished the bickering!

    And Thor would react to my singing like G’s pack responds to hers, because evidently we both have the same vocal accomplishments!

  7. Bubblesknits Says:

    ROTFL I can so see the Knight doing that! =)

    Love that picture up at the top, too.

Leave a Reply

