Over the River and Through the Woods…

Sissy and I had quite an adventure yesterday.  We began the day at our vets’ office, for an eye check up.  When the pressure in her left eye was 80, the visit ended and we were sent on our way to the Leesburg Eye Care for Animals.

January 2011 015

My sweet girl

The news is not good.  She is already blind in her left eye, and while the pressure at the eye clinic was only 54, that’s still very high, and very painful.  Surgery is scheduled, but you’ll understand if I don’t share details here, right?

The good news is that the pressure in her right eye is a lovely 14.  (Normal is 22 and under.)  She does have primary glaucoma, which is to say it was genetic, and there is nothing we could have done to prevent it.  Please know your breeds…  I was a little sick to learn that Jack Russells are also prone to this disease.

Except when she’s hurting, Sis remains her silly, spirited self.  The vet and tech wouldn’t even let me scold her when she found the treats on the back of the counter (don’t worry…  I brought some of her treats along!).   We’re trying to be as strong as she is.

17 Responses to “Over the River and Through the Woods…”

  1. Nichole Says:

    Aww… hugs hun! I wish you had emailed me yesterday and I could’ve been supportive. 😦 Sending loads of good vibes… and please let me know if you need anything at all.

    Sis is a strong girl… she’ll get YOU through it!

  2. Smile anyway « Chan Knits Says:

    […] can’t find the version I hear anywhere online!  Anyway, the girls’ blog gives a little more information, but we lost the battle for Sissy’s left eye.  She’s already blind in that eye, but we […]

  3. Karen Says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. Sissy will be fine though. I don’t know what course surgically you are following but keep in mind our dear Tickly Bender. He is going strong still and it has been at least 8 years (maybe more) since his eye surgery. He’s never missed a beat! Let me know how things go.

  4. Sue Says:

    Wow, what a terrible day you had yesterday. I had the feeling something was wrong when you didn’t post. I’ve been there with that sick feeling in your stomach as you get the news.

    I knew Bassets had eye problems, but I didn’t know about this. I’m so very sorry, but you did find it before the other eye was affected. Sis is a trooper and will adjust. She’ll take her sues from you, so you have to be positive for her sake. I’ve learned that the hard way, too. It isn’t easy. Every time you look at her, your heart will sink, but you have to do it. Dogs, especially Sis, pick up on your feelings.

    If there’s anything I can do, just say the word. We’re all thinking about you and your girl.

  5. Sue Says:

    That should read she’ll take her CUEs from you.

  6. gMarie Says:

    You are an observant and attentive dog parent. Sissy is very, very lucky to have you and the Knight as her human parents. 🙂 g

  7. Cat and furkids Says:

    I echo all the above! Please let Sissy know that she still looks ‘ma-vah-lous’ even though she may only see herself in monocular vision!

  8. Kathy Says:

    We are so sorry to hear about Sissy’s eye, but you are a very good dog mama and you’ll get the best care available for her. Good to know she’s still acting silly! Lucy sends her lots of Labrador love.

  9. km Says:

    That’s such hard news to take. She’s still so young. (((HUGS)))

  10. Marjie Says:

    Of course the vet techs wouldn’t let you scold here. A bassett is a hunter, after all, and Sissy hunted those treats all by herself! Poor baby. I hope her second eye remains good.

  11. Mary Says:

    Very sorry to hear this news. I know you will all take good care of each other. Let me know if there is something I can do to help.

  12. Robin in VA Says:

    Oh Sissy Girl…I’m so sorry, but you still look just as beautiful as ever!

  13. Walden121 Says:

    I’m so sorry! Still a beautiful girl and will hopefully have a healthy right eye for the rest of her years. Hope the surgery goes well.

  14. Terrie Says:

    Poor Sissy! I’m glad her right eye is in the normal pressure range. You and the Knight are such great Doggy parents to both fur-girls! Sending good vibes to you all!!

  15. Bubblesknits Says:

    Like I said on your blog, I’m so sorry. However, I’m certain that Sissy will adjust after the surgery and be her happy self in no time. Especially with you and the Knight (and Gretchen) by her side. : ) Please give the sweetie (and her sister) some kisses for me.

  16. Mango Says:

    We’ll keep sweet Sissy in our thoughts. Hope everything goes OK.

    Mango Momma

  17. monnibo Says:

    ((HUGS)) I’m sure everything will work out. Sissy is a strong girl — she’s a fighter and she’ll come through this fine. Especially with her humans and Gretchen taking good care of her.

Leave a Reply

