Chasin’ Rabbits

… a rant.

Sorry.  We really do wish you a happy dogs on Thursday though!   For a change, the girls are suggesting you check out my blog for more doggy cuteness.

**Edit:  The world is a better place.  Read on only if you really are curious about what gets me – Chan – riled up.  A few hours later, a few phone calls with the awesome office manager at our vet practice and a VERY soothing, order-restoring long-distance call to Wondervet, and the world is still turning.  This is thankful Thursday, and goodness am I *EVER* so thankful for Wondervet, who can’t make house calls, but she still takes my calls and cares about the big hot mess we all know and love as Sissy, DIVA, the Queen, Queenie, etc.

I am also thankful for each of you who offered aid and advice, concern, and/or shared my righteous indignation!!**

July 2011 011

I could eat tea and scones, right?!

Some of you know that Sissy has had kibble issues her entire life.  We finally found relief for all of us when we found Wondervet and Royal Canin’s potato rabbit kibble.  I’ve groaned on the blog before about Royal Canin’s inability to keep ANY size of the kibble in their warehouse and we’ve pondered other options, but it’s so easy to stay with what is working.

That is, until they – Royal Canin – opted out of our vet’s online pharmacy program, and then politely noted that our kibble would be backordered for 2-3 weeks.  Seriously?!  This is a prescription kibble.  gMarie‘s Lucy has another, non-food medicine that is all but impossible to find as well.  Totally unacceptable, folks.

There was one other brand of prescription, limited ingredient rabbit kibble 18 months ago when we went on this “gold dust” diet.  I’m going to call the vet’s office manager today and discuss my options – and a few of you know that putting Sissy on a VENISON version is NOT acceptable – but should all else fail, it turns out little Gg’s kibble, while using salmon as its protein source, is free of Sissy’s allergens.

Yes folks, Sis is sensitive to ALL red meat.  To the DEAR vet who took on Sissy’s case when our beloved Wondervet left, VENISON is a red meat.  I have some in the inlaw’s freezer if you need help understanding that.  (See why I’m calling the office manager?!  Two days have passed and I’m still incapable of leaving snark out of it.)

There is also one non-prescription rabbit-based kibble, which I blogged about before and discussed with Wondervet.  I might re-visit that option, but chicken fat, even hydrolized, scares the heck out of me, because corn and chicken not only make Sis itch, get ear infections, etc., but they make her barf.  That’s soooo not fun.

I’m not looking for advice…  Thanks to a few trusted friends, including the local one who led us to Wondervet and the most awesome practice, my ire is directed squarely at the vet who made the wholly inappropriate substitution suggestion.  I have been Sissy’s best advocate since she first made it clear something wasn’t right with her digestive tract, but I got used to having Wondervet as my best resource and partner in care.  I knew that the next vet would pale in comparison, but this is ridiculous.

(No links.  Some of the info can be found in previous posts, but I’m not proud of my anger, don’t care to drive traffic to Royal Canin’s site because I feel they’ve failed me and more significantly, my precious dog who counts on them to keep her belly full and the rest of her healthy.  I don’t yet feel comfortable with any of my options, so… no links for them either.)

12 Responses to “Chasin’ Rabbits”

  1. Colonial DIVA? « Chan Knits Says:

    […] bother clicking over to the girls’ blog unless you want to glance at the silly photo of Sissy.  It’s a rant, and one I wish I could […]

  2. Walden121 Says:

    Sorry, having food allergies can be ridiculous. I am sure even more so as a pet. Hope you find not only an acceptable alternative, but a good one!

  3. Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara Says:

    Too bad that Instinct rabbit meal has the chicken fat, the pups here loved it. We so understand and sympathize with your situation. And your anger is justified. We so hope you can find something that will work.

  4. The Road Dogs Says:

    We can totally sympathize with the food issues! There are a variety of special diet needs here, too, and it’s always frustrating when you find something that works and then, poof! for whatever reason (company sold, formula changed, store/vet stops carrying it, blah, blah, blah). Good luck finding a suitable food for Sissy!

    We know you didn’t want advice, but thought you might be interested in Wysong Rabbit Au Jus – it’s only rabbit and rabbit juice. Think it’s only in cans, though. Here’s a link http://www.wysong.net/products/documents/labels/rabbit-aujus.pdf

    Good luck!

    The Road Dogs

  5. Ruth Says:

    It is OK to be angry when something that threatens the ones you love happens. You’re doing well in dealing with the issues that really matter…a little rant is good for letting off steam.

    Woofs…

  6. gMarie Says:

    Your anger is completely justified. Of course, knowing that the woman in the clinic is incapable of reading chart notes irritates me to no end – because I know Sis’ issues are well documented and everyone should be aware.

    Abby is allergic to one antibotic and one anti-inflamatory but it’s well documented in her chart and EVERYONE at our clinic – vet and staff alike is aware as well as Jay and I so…..

    I also don’t understand why they suddently can’t make something they’ve been making for years – it’s not like there’s a shortage of rabbits. (Dang! I did just say that out loud, didn’t I?) g

  7. Sue Says:

    I have heard of a couple PWDs with severe allergic issues who have to eat kangaroo based foods. Remember it’s also an option.

  8. Bubblesknits Says:

    ((hugs))

  9. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    This is totally unacceptable! Sissy has to eat!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  10. Terrie Says:

    I’m glad you were able to talk to the office manager and Wondervet!

    This really is unacceptable! I don’t know why the things that work the best always seem to get discontinued or become impossible to find. I really hope you’re able to find a good alternative!

  11. Jessica Says:

    oh boy….you know i totally sympathize with the food issues. so sorry….huge hugs to you all.

  12. Nichole Says:

    Still unacceptable that they can’t keep their own food in stock! HMPRFH. Did you get to order that one without the 2 -3 week wait?

Leave a Reply

