Admitting it is half the battle?

Gretchen here.  This is a very difficult post for me.  See…  Mama and our friend Sue have been talking about me for a while.   Before I go any further, I hope just sharing this dirty little secret shows how brave I really am, and proves I really am a plucky Jack Russell Terror at heart.

Oh, let’s just get it over with.

July 2011 004Hi.  My name is Gretchen and I am a timid dog.  I’d like to explain that I’m only timid sometimes, and that I also run in where angels fear to tread at other times, but Mama says that only masks the issue.  Miss Sue thinks it’s because Sissy and I are always together, and has suggested that I need a chance to be my own dog, so Mama’s looking for a basic obedience class that starts very soon. 

I’m a little confused about that part; I’ve always been highly obedient, especially for Mama, but she keeps patiently trying to tell me class isn’t just about learning commands.  Whatever.  I did catch the part where I’ll have to ride in the car, so I’m already thinking this isn’t going to be fun, although the car does take me to work-work, and that’s BIG FUN!

I realize it’s silly to be so nervous, but I just can’t help it.  Can anyone out there relate?   Nothing’s ever happened in my life to make me so nervous…  I just seem to be wired that way.   I know it stresses everyone out when I’m overwrought, so I sure hope this class I don’t think I need helps.

Isn't he handsome!? His owner is even named Gretchen!

Oh – and happy dogs on Thursday to you, despite the angsty post.   Sissy wants everyone to know the new Smurfs movie has a basset hound in it!   The star is out near our friend gMarie so that’s even more reason to be excited.  Mama is pondering trying to sneak us into the drive-in, but Dadaw is sure (and rightly so, dontcha think?) Sissy will get us all kicked out for good!

10 Responses to “Admitting it is half the battle?”

  1. Let’s Hear it for Bassets! « Chan Knits Says:

    […] I’d like to direct you to the girls’ blog.  Gretchen has a post today that has been a long time coming.   Several of you probably realized early on that she’s a […]

  2. Sue Says:

    Several of my dogs bark at dogs on TV. I’m sure if they saw giant dogs on a movie screen, they’d go bananas. I think Mama and Dadaw should go screen the movie and you and Sis should wait for the video.

  3. scrabblequeen Says:

    Congrats on facing up to your timidness, MIss Gg. I know your momma will do all she can to help you overcome and be the best dog you can be! Did I mention that Sasha (terror tho she is) has some timidness, too?

    Woofs…Misty

  4. Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara Says:

    Gretchen, we think this class will be wonderful for you and Mom to do together. Being timid isn’t fun and we know you would love to be able to handle your shyness better. We will cross our paws for things to go very well.

    Mom and the little bipeds went to see The Smurfs today and everyone really enjoyed it. It was smurfingly good. Mom said the basset did a great job too.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  5. Jed & Abby in MerryLand Says:

    Gretchen, we sure hope the class will make you feel better. You’ll have some dedicated mom time, meet some new doggie friends, get to practice riding in the car and being in new situations. We’re sometimes timid, too – mostly at the vets when something we don’t like or expect is happening. Just keep putting one paw in front of the other and you’ll be fine. And we think it’s FINE to lean on your pack mates! That’s why we have pack mates.

    Jed & Abby

  6. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    We think you’ll love class and get a lot out of it, Gretchen. Did your mom mention that there are TONS of treats involved?!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  7. Mango Says:

    I think having some private training is just the thing. I do like PeeWee’s company, but I like being alone with momma too and have all her attention on ME! I think you will like it.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

    P.S. We have subscribed to doggie magazines in the past, but after a while they get kind of repetitive.

  8. Nichole Says:

    Oh you’ll have so much fun in class Gretchie!!! We can’t wait to hear all about it!

  9. Katherine Says:

    Macy the JRT asked me to write and tell you that she thinks you have simply achieved a higher level of JRT-ness! She believes that what some may view as being timid is really perfected perception and refined sensitivities. She also said something like, “If you’ve got it honey, flaunt it!”

  10. Bubblesknits Says:

    Oh my goodness….what a regal looking basset. lol

    I bet the obedience classes will help. Maybe even Dadaw could attend a few with her?

Leave a Reply

