Wonder-who?

No, we could NEVER forget Wondervet, but she was right; we do love the vet she left our records with when she moved away.  We already have the VisonVet team for her eye care, so we need a new name for this nice lady…

photo

Missing a walk-walk makes me POUT!

It was time for Sissy’s pressure check yesterday, and it was fine.  It was 13, but that’s still below 15, and if you’ll recall, her first pressure check with Wondervet was a little higher than that, so it might be the time of day, or a little stress on the vet’s or Sissy’s part… but no big deal, not at all. 

July 2011 005

I need a REAL job...

I think this vet is truly going to be awesome for Gretchen.  We discussed the fear factor, and the woman obviously knows JRTs.   She insists Gretchen is not timid nor fearful, but rather, she’s just nervous because she’s an unfulfilled working dog.   Like most working breeds (yes, yes, terriers are STILL working dogs, even though the AKC has them in two different classes), Parson Jack Russell created his breed of terriers to WORK, so when they are asked to merely be lap dogs (hem…), they get frustrated.

So.  I’m rounding up some trainers to interview by phone.  If they suit over the phone, I’ll then go observe a class, just me, no dogs.  If I like what I see, THEN I can enroll Gg in a class.  New to us vet recommends agility or Canine Good Citizen because she fears basic obedience will bore Gretchen and thus be counter-productive.

DSCN0658

Mugsy on the beach, OBX November '07

She also laughed when I said I want to socialize Gretchen.   She finds Gretchen’s “no fear” (aka: no boundaries) approach to meeting new people and pets very normal.  JRTs are thrill-seekers and like to rush in where angels fear to tread, so the only chance I have of convincing Gretchen that she needs to allow me to control her greetings is through training her to watch me for cues in EVERYTHING we do, which seems do-able.  Mugsy was far more dominant by nature than Gg is, and his desire to please allowed us to train him to be a model citizen (eventually). 

What say you?   I’d always thought Gretchen would prefer to be a therapy dog, and saw Sis as our agility girl.  Now though, Sis has no depth perception, and while we endeavor to have her live life to the fullest, we’re also mindful of giving her things we’d have to take away if/when she becomes blind.   I just don’t see Gretchen doing agility, but she does love to leap, fly, bounce, rip, race, etc…

11 Responses to “Wonder-who?”

  1. Dress-ease « Chan Knits Says:

    […] and speaking of the dogs, Sissy and I met our new vet yesterday.  You can read all about that here.  My current […]

  2. Mary Says:

    How about ValueVet? She values both the furgirls, right? Or CharmVet, if she can get them to do what you want? At any rate, glad Sissy’s eye pressure was under the limit.

  3. Barbara S. Says:

    Sadie was scared of any other dog besides her big brother when she started school, plus didn’t really like DTE, her trainer leaving her side (how could she be protected if they weren’t glued together?), but with some hard work and patience on both their parts, she became very brave and got her CGC. It made a big difference in her overall disposition.

  4. Sue Says:

    I’d start with a basic class. Our’s is called home manners and see where her interests and talents lie. If you get a good instructor, he or she should be able to direct you in the right direction.

    A couple of my dogs would probably enjoy agility, but it’s too much for me. We play with our agility equipment, but I don’t want to race around a course trying to beat the clock.

  5. Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara Says:

    Sounds like it was a good visit. Isn’t it wonderful when you come away from the vet with such a good feeling of confidence in what they say and do. Good luck with the search for Gretchen’s trainer.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  6. gMarie Says:

    I loved doing agility. It was so dang much fun – part of it was all the extra face skin when he did a touch. Beau loved it too. I think anything really active – Agility does that. What’s the silly one where they walk around, down, etc. That seems boring…..

    just my 2 cents worth. Glad the new vet was awesome! g

  7. Cat Says:

    When I took Jetta’s predecessor (Lowi) to basic obedience, she loved it and, since ARTs are such fragile looking little doggies, she was the belle of the ball! She hated the ride to and from, and till her dying days threw up every time we had to go in the car, but she enjoyed being there, especially since it was special time for her – she had mom all to her self.

  8. scrabblequeen Says:

    Yeah for right vet with no nickname! I’m sure you’ll find the right class for Gg…the momma is likely to know best here, so I wouldn’t presume to guess what would work for Darlin’s work. 🙂

  9. Louise Says:

    What’s all this pouting Sissy. You have a good report, a new vet and a family who absolutely loves you, unconditionally!

    And you Gretchen, well, I see an exciting time coming your way, enjoy!!!

    {Hugs} girls:)

  10. Nichole Says:

    Yay for Sis… and hopeful for Gretchie on her “fear” or non-fear…. 🙂

  11. Gretchen meets Dr. M « Don't Mess with my Tutu Says:

    […] such intense anxiety issues… but she does.  As I predicted just from chatting with Dr. M the first time Sissy & I met her, she is QUITE in tune with little miss Gg.  She has the DIVA’s number […]

Leave a Reply

