My brother, the prince

DSCN0952

Us, January 2008

Sissy here.  Now that it’s behind us, I think Mama can help publish my post.  Yesterday’s shaking marked the third anniversary of Mugsy’s going away.

Gosh I loved my brother!  Mama says she’s not so sure he loved me so much, but… that’s not how I remember it.   Yeah, he was old and crochity, but this picture says it all, doesn’t it?  He loved me!

DSCN1016

Us, OBX 4-2008

Mama still talks to him every day, and to Fred too… but I never knew him.  He went to the Bridge so I could come live in the Woods.  All this talk about hurricanes and our beach makes me think about Mugsy a lot.  We had some great times on that beach when I was little…

Mama says Mugsy and Fred are our guardian angels now.  If that’s true, she can stop worrying about that hurricane hurting our beach, because nobody loves the Outer Banks more than Mugsy, so if he can watch over those he loves, he’ll round up all the other beach doggies and chase that old windbag away. 

DSCN1981See that nasty, sandy tennis ball?  Mugsy left that for us just before we got to the beach house the first time without him.   Mama and Dadaw always do a couple of walk-thrus to assure no toys have been left out or behind when we leave, so there’s no way that ball was from our previous trip, almost 6 months before that. 

I say it’s a sign that Mugsy’s not stuck here in the Woods.  He’s quite capable of hanging out at the beach to guard what he loves there too.  Look out Irene!

10 Responses to “My brother, the prince”

  1. Sue Says:

    So do you think the earthquake was actually all our pups dancing at the bridge? Batten the hatches , it looks like Irene is heading for you.

  2. Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara Says:

    We didn’t know Mugsy, but you sure loved him a lot,didn’t you? We hope that Irene stays away but it sure sounds like it is headed for the Carolinas.

    Stay safe.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  3. scrabblequeen Says:

    Sissy, it is good to remember loved ones who’ve gone on ahead of us, isn’t it? Glad you have good thoughts of your older brother, even if he was a tad crochety when you were a pup.

    Woofs…Sasha and Misty

  4. Mango Says:

    Mugsy is watching over you for sure. He will always take good care of you. I am sure he loved you very much in his own way.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  5. Terrie Says:

    What a lovely post, Sissy! Those are great pictures of you and Mugsy. I know he and Fred are watching over you, Gretchen, Mama and Dadaw!

  6. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    We are sure Mugsy loved you, Sissy. What a sweet picture!
    We don’t think we like this Irene! We hope she fizzles!

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

  7. Louise Says:

    What a sweet tribute, Sissy:) There’s no doubt in my mind that Mugsy truly loved your family. Seriously, what’s not to love!

    Be safe, you and yours…

  8. gMarie Says:

    Oh I miss your brother too. He was a sweet boy if sometimes crochety – but really, aren’t we all? And I agree with you that he is looking over all the things he loves including the beach.

    I have a very hard time believing it’s been 3 years already. g

  9. Bubblesknits Says:

    Now I’m sniffling. Crap.

  10. Nichole Says:

    Much love to all… xoxo great post girls!

Leave a Reply

