Thorsday 1.1

In case you didn’t get the memo, we’re honoring our departed friend Thor in part by carrying on his Thorsday tradition.  Y’all know it’s still dogs on thursday and little friday, but we’ll be calling it Thorsday indefinitely, ‘kay?

August 2011 001

A peek at our yummy cake

It’s no small irony – because nothing was small about our big friend Thor –  that on the very day he left us to go play with Mugsy and Fred and the other pets across the Rainbow Bridge, Thor’s sweet mom baked us a cake for Mama’s birthday, and yesterday the Brown Truck man at work brought Mama said cake, just in time for my belated birthday celebration.

So, thank you Miss Marjie for our scrumptious cake that was made with special consideration for Sissy and her food issues.  We all had a piece of that yummy cake, right after Dadaw and I took care of the big ol’ copperhead in MY PEN.

Hrmph.  Mama won’t share the photo Dadaw took of the beast.  Something about too many of you don’t like snakes.  Whatever.  I wasn’t scared; I backed that thing right up under the deck stairs and yelled at it and yelled at it to leave until Dadaw came and made me come inside.  Then HE ran it out into the yard and cut it to bits with with a shovel.   Mama was all smothery-mothery when Dadaw made me stay inside after he “rescued” me; she had to touch every hair on my body and even places I don’t have hair to assure herself that I was just fine.

Hrmph.  Where does she think I got my dainty and tough composition from?!  Mama is still plenty tough, but she also looks so ladylike when she’s dressed up…  I’m a cracker-Jack Russell Terrier after all!

August 2011 011

Doesn't it look good?! No, I wouldn't stand and pose because I knew mean Mama was trying to take my pretty from me!

Anyway, in honor of my day, Auntie G also sent pressies for all of us.  Mama and I are fighting over the necklace.  It’s tiny, so it must be mine, right?!  But no, mean ol’ Mama put it in HER jewelry chest and has it around HER big ol’ neck today.  Hrmph.  (Why yes, I am saying that a lot today.  I’m indignant.  Yes, that’s the word for it, Sissy… trust me.  Just go back to using that purple nail file Auntie G sent you…)

You’ll have to click over to Mama’s blog later today to see more of the gifties.  I suppose I should also show you the PANK frame she bought off Etsy for me.   The nice folks – Sadie, her human and the cats – at The Beaded Tail tempted Mama with it on one of their friday features. 

So, happy Thorsday everyone.  We should all be so gentle and good, at least on Thorsdays…

14 Responses to “Thorsday 1.1”

  1. Sue Says:

    Wow, we really like your picture frame. Norma Jean thinks she needs one like that to show off her big mug.

  2. Cake, snake and … « Chan Knits Says:

    […] to Thorsday 1.1.   Gretchen has fired off quite a post, so click on over there first.  In the meantime, […]

  3. gMarie Says:

    Ummm, that nail file was for momma too – just in Sissy’s colors. ooops. and darlin’ the necklace is yellow – you like PANK.

    :ducking for cover:: g

  4. Marjie Says:

    I’m glad the cake made the trip safe and sound. Love those Hefty pans and sheets of bubble wrap! And making cake for you guys made me feel a little better, trying to bring a little happiness to someone else. We are honored to have a weekly holiday called Thorsday.

  5. Ruth Says:

    Thorsday sounds like a good name for the day to us here…snakes DO sound exciting, but our momma’s reaction, well, let’s just say she wouldn’t want us to deal with a snake. Silly, really, as that is just what little Terrors, erm Terriers, like us were bred for!

    Woofs…Sasha and Misty

  6. bubblesknits Says:

    Goofy girl. Leave the snake killin’ to the shovel. However, good job on letting everyone know that there was an intruder. It would have been bad if it had snuck up on your Mama. You’ve got another box coming soon. Micro says that when you catch a whiff of meh-hi-co, you’ll know it’s from him. 😉

  7. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    Mom always says that the best kind of snake is a dead one! We’re glad he kept his nasty fangs off of you!
    What a pretty picture frame!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  8. Kathy Says:

    Our mom doesn’t like snakes either and we’re glad your dadaw took care of that ole slithering beast and your mama took special care checking you over.

    Shake a paw,
    Mr. Bettis, Gypsy and Molly (who’s on the sidelines)

  9. Mary Says:

    Gg – So glad you and Sissy are okay after your encounter with the CH. Ugh. Don’t like snakes. Be nice and let Mama have the necklace. You know she buys you lots of goodies.

  10. Mango Says:

    Thorsday forever! We got a nommy cake from Miss Marji too when it was my birthday. She is totally a way cool human for sure.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  11. Terrie Says:

    I’m glad you were all safe from the snake! Looms like a yummy cake and fun presents. I like the sound of Thorsday 🙂

  12. Jed & Abby in MerryLand Says:

    Happy belated birthday, Miss Gretchen! Looks like you had a whopping good time. Did you get your raincoats?

    Even though we don’t have a blog, we do have an opinion about making Thorsday a permanent Blogville event and we heartily approve. And, of course, it’s entirely appropriate historically as well.

    We’re very glad your Dadaw got the copperhead. If you want to kill an nonpoisonous snake, that’s one thing, but a poisonous snake is WAY too risky. Best to leave those to the hu-apes.

    Jed & Abby

  13. Jed & Abby in MerryLand Says:

    What’s with the timer setting on your comments page? We just posted a comment on Sept. 5th at 8:14 p.m. and it shows as posting Sept. 6th at 12:14 p.m. Most unusual.

    Jed & Abby

  14. Nichole Says:

    My oh my… work has sure kept me out of the loop on everything lately. Sigh…… tears……. more sighs……

Leave a Reply

