The Eyes of October

IMAG0006

April eye visit with Wondervet

So, Saturday Sissy and I went up to see Visionvet for the quarterly eye check.  All is well.  Pressures were 13 & 10, and everything looked fine.  Visionvet was back from maternity leave, so it was great to see her again too.

Sissy learned a new trick.  I didn’t get a picture of it, but see how she’s sitting on the bench in that photo?  Well, Visionvet has two plastic chairs instead.  Madame decided she cared not to sit upon the floor, so her exam was conducted IN said chair. 

Of course I’m serious.  The tech and VV just giggled, waited for me to crunch between the wall, chair and the exam table, and then humored the queen.   The reason she gets away with all of her dominant acts of self-expression is because somehow, this darling, dear, sweet Sissydog manages to dictate life as it happens around her while remaining the most delightful, SWEETEST pup on the planet. 

October 2010 014

October 2010

Yesterday, Lady Gretchen Greer and I went to Keswick Vineyards for Yappy Hour with several other League members and their dogs.   No, I don’t have photos of that either, because Gretchen stayed in a near-full melt-down for the entire two hours.  Girlfriend doesn’t like to be around other dogs.  We’re going to need professional intervention.

Our buddy Sarge the airedale and his parents get a SPECIAL shout-out for being really good sports and friends.  His mom held Gretch so I could go get a glass of wine because they were only tasting reds outside and I’m allergic  and then our little terrorized terrier band trouped away from the main group to give Gretchen some peace. 

It worked.  After an hour, Sarge could look at her and she would just “reach” for me.  Before we left, she let him visit, until he put his face in hers.  Sigh.  I’m trying not to be disappointed in Gretchen.  I’ve done a lot of thinking and pondering the last 24 hours, and I have come to the conclusion that Penn didn’t cause her problem with other dogs; it comes from the bully (dog) on our road that rushes out at us barking and being aggressive.  Having her safe/home space invaded by Penn did make it worse, but it didn’t CAUSE the problem.

Later this week, I’ll interview trainers AGAIN.  This time, I need to follow through.

13 Responses to “The Eyes of October”

  1. Putting the Dog in Dog House « Chan Knits Says:

    […] had a banner weekend.  You can read more about it on the girls’ blog, but Rosanne, Fritz, Mary and the Saturday afternoon shoppers at Dog House Yarns deserve a big […]

  2. Marjie Says:

    Thor was afraid of other dogs too. I put it down to being in the company of humans, and therefore thinking he’s just a very hairy person.

  3. Kari Says:

    I think follow thorugh is my biggest issues. I know that I have issues that need to be addressed with my duo. Its the follow through that gets me every time. sigh.

    Im glad that her eye appt went good, she is too cute sitting up on the bench.

  4. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    Great news on the eye report – we are so happy for Sissy and you.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  5. Nichole Says:

    YAY for Sissy… Zeus, Lola & Tut are big fans of sitting on the benches at the vet’s office. Thankfully there are no chairs… lol

    Poor Gretchie…

  6. Barbara S. Says:

    Like I have said before, obedience school did wonders for Sadie’s fear of other dogs besides her brother……..

  7. Sue Says:

    There’s one of those plastic chairs in our vet’s exam room, too. Samba uses it to launch herself onto the table. She always wants to do it herself and hates having anyone help her. Strong female personalities in the dog world can be a trial at times.

    Yep, Wee Gretchen needs to get in a small well controlled class to learn some confidence. It worked so well for Norma Jean. When we started class she’d hide behind me if anyone, human or canine, came near except for Gussie. By the end she was going up to people and accepting treats and nosing the other dogs. She was still a little shy, but she wasn’t hiding.

  8. scrabblequeen Says:

    Happy eye vet news all around. Can totally relate to the terrorized terrior situation…if you find a trainer and success, give us a shout out.

  9. Mary Says:

    Happy for the good news on Sissy’s eye. Good luck finding a trainer. No fun for Gretchen (or you) to be so afraid. Abby doesn’t like bicycles so she goes into full spin/bark mode when the local cherubs whiz by. Most of the kids know her fears so they get off their bikes when she goes by, but there are a few neighborhood terrors who get their jollies freaking her out.

  10. Bubblesknits Says:

    Poor Gretchen. 😦 Give her a hug for me. Glad Sissymonster’s eye check went well.

  11. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA Says:

    So glad Sissy’s check-up went well. Abby also likes to sit in the chairs at the vets. Sweet Gretchen is the doggie she is. Hope a small class with non-threatening socialization will help her, but even if it doesn’t she’s still the same, sweet Gretchen. Our dogs love us unconditionally, warts and all, and mama tries to do the same. Not always with as much success as the dogs, but she tries.

    Jed & Abby

  12. Mango Says:

    I, Mango, will tell you that I am a perfect gentleman at dog school, but out and about I cannot fight the urge to defend my momma against any doggie or human that gets too close. I am not mean about it, but momma says that it is unacceptable for me to yell at our neighbors like that. Sigh.

    Good news on the Queen of All front.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  13. Walking into 2012 « Chan Knits Says:

    […] poking around this morning, I discovered that the local 5K on Saturday is dog-friend.  After the Yappy Hour debaucle, I’m thinking maybe Sissy would like to “race” with other dogs and their […]

Leave a Reply

