Thorsday Eve

Happy Thorsday Eve!  Thor came from a household where needing just the right recipe on just the right day isn’t a crazy concept, so we’re sure that Thor won’t mind if we do our Thorsday post a few hours early… even on the eve of his mom’s birthday.

October 2011 004

Happy birthday eve Miss Marjie!  We’re delighted to share our celebration week with you.  We hope your pack showers you with a special gift or two and cake and…

Hem.  Sorry.  Sissy’s helping a little too much with this post and she forgets that just because she likes certain things doesn’t mean everyone else does!  If you could be here with us, we’d let you wear the pink tiara because you like pink too.  Sissy could wear her purple party hat.  Don’t mind the drool…

But this is supposed to be a recipe for Miss Louise’s contest.  It’s National Pumpkin Day (on Thorsday Eve) and we love pumpkin!!!  In fact, we love pumpkin so much that I – Gretchen Greer – talked Mama into skipping the traditional cupcakes for Sissy’s paw-ty and instead, she baked her Cheater Pumpkin Eater Muffins.  (Catchy name?  I thought of it myself … kinda‘.)

Before we share this easy-peasy pumpkin lumpkin, you have to know that Auntie gMarie first told Mama about it, so it’s not exactly our brain child.

October 2011 001

Cheater Pumpkin Eater Muffins

1 box cake mix – any variety (unless you’re sharing with a dog or two, and then you can’t use chocolate!)

1 – 15 ounce can pumpkin – not the pie filling, just plain ol’ canned pumpkin

That’s it!!  Oh – wait – Gretchen here again.  Sissy just can’t blog by herself…  Obviously you want to preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Then you blend the two ingredients thoroughly and divide the batter into 15-18 standard, lined cupcake tins.  Mama baked hers in Pampered Chef stoneware, so hers took 25 minutes, but you probably want to check yours around 15 minutes if you’re using a metal pan.  They’re done when a toothpick or cake tester comes out clean.

Cool and serve.  Mama and I like them plain.  Dadaw and Sissy like cream cheese frosting on top.

Mama here…  My favorite varieties are made with spice cake mix or chocolate cake mix.  The ones this week were made with white cake mix, just because that’s what was in the pantry.  I also add nuts sometimes…  We hope you enjoy them too!

 

10 Responses to “Thorsday Eve”

  1. fern reed Says:

    Hi Chan,
    I have high speed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
    Got it tonight and I came right over!! I don’t know why but my dial up wouldn’t go to your blog, but the HS when right here. It will be interesting to know if now you can comment on the blog and be yourself and not be anonymous.
    xx, Happy & Fern

  2. gMarie Says:

    Yours look much, much better than mine. And I’m so confused I thought Thor’s Momma’s birthday was Monday. Happy Thorsday Eve. g

  3. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    Those pumpkin muffins look delicious! We hope that our mom will make some for us! Happy birthday to Miss Marjie!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  4. Mango Says:

    Oh that nom looks worthy of Thor Mom!

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  5. Shutterfly Cards & More « Chan Knits Says:

    […] Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and more!   Please don’t miss the contest on the girls’ blog, or their very quick and even easier muffin recipe!  […]

  6. Kari Says:

    OMG those sound and look delish. I would have to say I would want cream cheese frosting on them too 🙂

  7. Louise Says:

    Cheater Pumpkin Eater Muffins are just my style Ms. Gretchen. (I’m not much of a baker, as you know:) So glad you talked Mama into baking them up and bringing them to the Cookbook Party.

    Now, I must go and find put WHEN Ms. Marjie’s birthday is…

  8. gypsyknits Says:

    Oh thank you girls :). These sound quite tasty and I’m certain Mr. Bettis and company will be sitting in the kitchen in case a morsel happens to hit the floor 😉

  9. fern reed Says:

    Happy Birthday Marjie!!! My Mothers name was Marjie!!
    I have had coons around here for 38 years!!! I have never seen any sick with rabies!! Been very lucky I guess!!
    xx, Fern & Happy

  10. Bubblesknits Says:

    Oh. Oh no. I’m going to pretend I didn’t see this post. /drool/

Leave a Reply

