Treats Abound!

October 2010 016

Halloween 2010

Happy Howl-o-ween!

This is one of my – Mama – favorite Halloween photos of the girls.  Gretchen hates anything on her head, but her miserable pout looks a bit like a demure witch… maybe?

No, there are no new photos for this year.  I made a deal with Sissy-devil last fall that I wouldn’t shove her in costumes anymore.  She hates it.  She doesn’t mind headwear, curiously enough. 

Then, I thought about taking cutie Gretchen to any of several pet costume events in our area, but after her very thorough meltdown at Yappy Hour earlier this month, I nixed that idea and kinda’ lost my Halloween mojo what with all the restrictions and such.

October 2010 022

Cute, content cheerleader in her own home 10-10

But I have a plan for next year!!  MJ & I were watching The Today Show this morning, and we think Gretchen would be okay in a pet costume parade *IF* we coordinate costumes in such a fashion that part of the “gig” is for Gg to be carried in my arms, snuggled close.  Any ideas?  Keep in mind, she doesn’t like anything on her head!

Before we wish you a happy Howl-o-ween, we need to announce that Jed & Abby in Merryland were the winners of our little celebration contest!  Thanks to all who entered, and we’re already pondering what kind of treats to send to the winners!

10 Responses to “Treats Abound!”

  1. Keep on Walkin’… « Chan Knits Says:

    […] enough off the road that we just don’t get costumed visitors.  (More of the why explained here.)   More 2010 […]

  2. km Says:

    Dorothy and Toto. I think you need some glitter red shoes.

  3. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    Oh, darn, we were thinking Dorothy and Toto too. It would be very cute.

    Happy Howloween to you.

    Boos and Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  4. Katherine Says:

    Gretchen, I love your cheerleader costume! Mom and dad could dress up like football players and you could be a football. I know you have to be held under the arm. My daddy calls it the “Wild JRT hold.” He says he sees fur-babies like us being held that way all the time and I have to say that it is calming for me! You go party girl!!
    Hugs,
    Macy

  5. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA Says:

    Wow, we won something! Wahoo!

    The football idea is a good one. Or mom could be a headless horseman [or headless JRT] and Gg can be the head – no costume required for her. Stick her under your arm and her head will be the most visible part of her.

    Or there is always Dorothy; Gg can wear a little bow and be a tan & white Toto.

    Jed & Abby

  6. Sue Says:

    My first thought was Toto also, but with a year to think about it, I’m sure we can come up with something unique.

  7. fern reed Says:

    Hi Chan, Gg is so cute. I had a friend that had a Jack Russell that I just loved so much. This friend spent a lot of time in the hospital and I would take care of her dog for her. Bambi loved her too.
    Hope you had a good Halloween!!!
    xx, Fern

  8. The Road Dogs Says:

    Those pics are so cute! Gretchen is adorable in her cheerleader costume! Hard to imagine that sweet little face in a “meltdown”!

    How about Kanga and Baby Roo for a costume idea. That would definitely require keeping little Gretchen snuggled close 🙂

    The Road Dogs

  9. fern reed Says:

    Hi Chan,
    I love Hunter!!! Were did you get that??????
    xx, Fern

  10. Bubblesknits Says:

    You could be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. A little girl in our neighborhood did that because she had a cast on one leg and was being pulled in a wagon by her dad. She had their little Chi tucked under her arm. She *and* her pup got extra treats from us. 😉

Leave a Reply

