Royal Veto

January 2012 011

It's MY tiara!!

It ain’t easy bein’ Queen. (Apologies to Kermit the Frog.) Mama had written up a great post for me…

Pardon me. Gretchen has informed me that first, I must wish you a very happy Thorsday. NOW I can get back to my explanation of the royal veto.

See, it’s Mango Minster time. Mama checked with Mango’s Momma to see if it was bad form for me to defend my title. (Gretch pointed out part of being a DIVA is having bad form sometimes. I don’t think that’s a compliment, but whatever.) The officials said “Why not?!” so Mama commenced with the entry.

September 2011 009

Smart AND cute, no?

Luckily, Gretchen can read and stays on top of things like this. There are new categories this year, and while I’m sure I could have done quite well as an Adventurer, I could also have challenged as a working stiff, since being Queen is tough and I moonlight as Mama’s personal trainer…

Anyway, after Gretchen read all of the categories to me, I thought it was pretty dog-gone clear that the best show I have at defending my title is in the Cute category. After all, I’m stunning and all, but this wee one has cute all locked up, and if I may say so myself – and I have shoved Mama and Gg aside to take matters to paw – there’s nothing cuter than the two of us fur-girls snuggled up in a knot. Besides, even if someone thinks I shouldn’t win two years in a row, surely they can’t hold my title against tiny, precious Gretchen Greer… right?

So without further delay, here’s our official entry in the Too Darn Cute category.

DSCN0859_edited-1We’ll start with one of my own puppy pictures. I’ve heard it said over and over, there’s nothing cuter than a baby basset. Mama never got a photo of me tripping over my ears, but use your imagination.

Trust me… it was CUTE.

Anyway, that’s baby me and my brother Mugsy. Don’t miss the way I’m hugging him with my tail. I luvered him a lot even though I think I mostly got on his nerves.  I think of him sometimes when Gretchen is using me as furniture.  I can’t even pretend I wonder where she got that idea…

DSCN2188

Then, there’s me and the baby, as we still sometimes call Gretchen Greer. Everybody say “Awwwwwhhhhh”.

DSCN2177

Do your teeth hurt yet?  (Mama’s teeth hurt if something’s too sweet.)  Baby Gretch looks like a stuffy, no?

IMG00008-20090322-1720[1]That’s Mama’s all-time favorite snuggly-girl photo.  It was her wallpaper on her Blackberry.  Gretchen says to tell you we snuggle like that just about every single day of our lives.

No, we aren’t related by blood.  I’m a Basset Hound you see.  I was registered as a lemon and white, but I darkened up as grew up, and Gretchen and I still look like a matched pair, even though she’s all Jack Russell Terrier.

May 2010 007This entry could last forever… in part because we really do have a lock on this cute thing.  Mama gets a big kick out of dressing us up.  I like crowns.  Gretchen likes frocks.  Call it what you like, but it adds up to cute… right?

And part of my charm is that I really don’t pay any mind to Gretchen when she leans on me, stands on me, etc.  In return, she tries not to look really grossed out when I accidentally wipe my mouth on  her.  (Wink, wink, nudge, nudge?)

January 2012 005We think we’re the cutest when we’re lovin’ on our peeps.  This is shot from Christmas Eve.  Mama wanted to show off our pretty scarves, but we thought she needed Christmas kisses!

What’s cuter than puppy love?!  We’re big on love.  Who doesn’t love love?

Oops!  We thought we were done, but Dadaw says no cute entry is complete without us in clothes.

DSC_1018

Photo by Anita

What’s cuter than us stomping around in our tutus?!

Good luck to everybody else.  (Gretchen made me say that.)

19 Responses to “Royal Veto”

  1. gMarie Says:

    Oh yes girls you are Cute! Abby climbed on top of Beau last night but to get a camera would have caused them to move and like an idiot I didnt’ take my phone when I went to work out.

    You were an adorable baby Sis. And yes – baby GG does look like a stuffy! g

  2. Tiara Thorsday « Chan Knits Says:

    […] Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and more.  Sissy pulled some sort of royal veto on the post I’d composed for their blog today, so I could pretend I’m cranky about it, […]

  3. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    OK, the Adventure Girl was good, but we can go along with cute too. Still sending wishes for good luck.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  4. Marjie Says:

    You look like a stuffed toy in your baby picture! These are all cute pictures. I think you girls have “cute” all sewn up there!

  5. Katherine Says:

    Good luck in the competition. You should win paws down! Sissy, you and Gretchen are very photogenic. I especially like the picture of you kissing your Mom.

    Mom says I should send in a photo of me in my turtleneck sweater challenging something called “snow” in Texas. That was a real adventure!! Max said the snow was all the way up to his… well never mind, Max has a potty mouth sometimes!!

  6. Susan, Says:

    Oh my!!! I think I am in a diabetic coma from the cute and sweet!!! Especially that baby pic, HRH Diva!!!

    Aunt Sus

  7. sue Says:

    Oh oh, I’ve got big competition. I can’t think of a cuter pair to compete with. Good luck to my favorite crazy ladies. Love, Noah

  8. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA Says:

    We’d vote for you in either category. In both categories. Excellent entries, but the ‘cute’ entry really warmed the cockles [whatever those are] of our hearts. You two have a serious sister bond. Best of luck in the competition. It would be groundbreaking to have a repeat BIS winner.

    Jed & Abby

  9. Maggie and Mitch Says:

    You girls are so much more than cute – you’re just adorable!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  10. Artemisia, Fenris, Socks & Scylla Says:

    You are two seriously cute girls.

  11. rottrover Says:

    EEEKK!! Stiff competition!!

    -Ruby

  12. Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus Says:

    I think I may have to ban puppy pictures – I mean, basset puppy pictures are REALLY UNFAIR! Heehee! You two are serious Cutie Patooties! (And I love the tutus! And the snuggly pictures! And the kissey pictures!)

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona, too Darn Cute Judge, Mango Minster 2012

  13. Grammy and the Country Corgis Says:

    Ruby is right! Very stiff competition all the way around!!! Good luck to you ladies! Little Dott from the Country Corgis

  14. Tucker and Daisy Says:

    Hi Girls

    We are visiting all Daisy’s competitors in the Too Darn Cute category. You two are very stiff competition, so much cuteness.

    Tucker and Daisy

  15. Coco The Princess Says:

    you two are SO darn cute!

    Tail Wiggles & Puppy Kisses,

    Coco The Princess

  16. Lassiter Chase & Benjamin the Shelties Says:

    Love the photos in the pink tutus! Very cute!

  17. 2browndawgs Says:

    Very cute! Good luck to you!

  18. Terrie Says:

    You girls are so cute!! I just submitted my vote; hope you win 🙂

  19. Tootsie Says:

    You look adorable in your tutus!

Leave a Reply

