Ribbons of Drool

photo.JPGThat photo pretty much sums up my Saturday.  See the STREAMS of drool on each side of her mouth? 

Yeah.   Sis didn’t feel well.  She’s normally a great rider and the belle of the ball when we get to the eye vet’s.  Not Saturday.  They were worried.  I was worried and frustrated because I didn’t know what the problem was.

Sissy’s favorite tech suggested the depth perception problem (that comes with only having one eye) was causing motion sickness.  Maybe, but it didn’t FEEL right…

Hem.  I finally realized on our walk that afternoon, when she had a ring of tiny bubbles around her mouth, that the girl had been helping me when I gave her a bath from the neck up first thing Saturday morning.  She kept licking her ears, even while they were soapy. 

Yep.  Sis took in enough soap that it upset her tummy, made her drool like a river, tremble like a leaf in a tornado, etc.  Gah.

The good news is she’s fine, and her eye pressure was a nice, low 6. 

photo.JPG

You can see, she was up for a big adventure walk despite it all.  That’s the Rivanna River.   The girls don’t have any interest in diving in, thankfully.

Have you ever ingested too much soap?

15 Responses to “Ribbons of Drool”

  1. Kari Says:

    Anytime I would bathe Fred with smell shampoo he would try and lick it off his ears during bath time – drove me nuts.

    Im so glad that her eyes checked out great and her little sissy went for moral support.

    Thank you so much for sharing the story about the eye vet on my page – it made me tear up. Im so thankful for sweet and caring people like you during this time. – hugs_ I know the worry feeling you have for sissy as a dog mom and your not alone.

  2. fern reed Says:

    Sissy’s I feel for your problem!!! I only have one eye that sees anything too!! It is a pain !!!! I am not seeing very good these days!!! I don’t drool much tho!! lol

  3. Khyra and Sometimes Her Mom Says:

    I khan’t say that I have –

    And after reading THIS, I’ll be sure not to do that!

    Of khourse, it is just another reason to keep my no bath streak alive!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra
    PeeEssWoo: Furry nice vet report!

  4. Hoppin’ down the trail « Chan Knits Says:

    […] got a good report Saturday from Vision Vet.   However, I also learned that soap upsets her stomach.  Hem.  (You […]

  5. Katherine Says:

    We have never had the soap situation but this weekend Macy discovered that putting her mouth on a frog is NOT the thing to do. That led to a lot of drooling too!

    Glad to hear about the good report from the vision vet!

  6. Nichole Says:

    Oh on… poor Sissy girl! No more soap for you! 🙂
    Love that shot of the girls near the river…

  7. Nancy Says:

    Whew! Glad to hear that all is well.

    I love that last photo of the girls at the pond.

  8. StarSpry Says:

    Poor Sissy! I’m glad she’s feeling better now. Yay! So glad her eye pressure was a nice, low number 🙂 That’s a great picture of the girls at the river!

  9. HoundDogMom Says:

    Poor girl, slobbering soap bubbles. Should make for cleaning the windows easier. BOL Glad you are doing good. Sniffs, The HoundDogs

  10. gmariesews Says:

    not since I was a wee one myself and had my mouth washed out with the stuff for saying HBO words. Glad the girl had a good report, sorry her helpfulness caused you both distress. g

  11. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA Says:

    Goodness! We’re glad it turned out to be a temporary, if unpleasant, condition. And we’re super happy the eye pressure continues to stay low.

    Jed has just been diagnosed with an autoimmune disease that causes different issued depending on what part of his body is under attack. We’re still learning about it, and how – we hope – to deal with it to keep it under control.

    Jed & Abby

  12. Mitch Says:

    Mom says that she remembers when gram used to wash her mouth out with soap for saying something naughty. I hope your tummy feels better today, Sissy!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch

  13. Mango Momma Says:

    Oh dear, eating suds. Bad. Thanks for the tip.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  14. Bubblesknits (@Bubblesknits) Says:

    Ooch…I had a similar experience with Ivory soap after I sassed my Mom when I was a kid. Actually, I think there were several experiences. 😉

  15. Good, bad, ugly « Don't Mess with my Tutu Says:

    […] ugly:  Sis didn’t feel well.  Remember the soap episode?  It wasn’t QUITE that bad yesterday, and no soap was ingested prior to travel.  It’s […]

Leave a Reply

