City Dogs

Happy Thorsday!  I have a question for those urbanites out there…

DSCN1542

Mugsy, humoring me as a purse dog 2008

Let’s backtrack.  I was in San Francisco last week, and I delighted in the canine presence on the streets, from the wee, young Scottish Terrier in a large tote, to the MASSIVE white Great Dane hanging out while his owners dined el fresco for lunch, with countless sightings in between.

I was jealous.  My own girls were back home with the Knight.  Now, neither of my girls are meant for the hustle of a city.  Gretchen would have a panic attack and even hiding a purse would find her unglued.  Sissy?  Well.  If you’ve read more than oh… one post here, you might guess that while DIVA would LOVE to walk the streets ANYWHERE, she simply doesn’t get boundaries, much less that not everyone wants to speak to her… or for her to greet them.  Hem.

Anyway, I know the fair Lucy gets to go to a special bar that likes doggy guests, but have the rest of you gotten to go out on the town?

15 Responses to “City Dogs”

  1. I Remember You « Chan Knits Says:

    […] for the city dwelling dogs, or for any lucky dog who has gotten to go to town before on the girls’ blog.   One thing I loved about San Fran was seeing all the dogs, everywhere we […]

  2. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    San Francisco seems to be a really dog-friendly city. We get to go on walks in our neighborhood but never out on the town. Sounds like fun, but Mom says she thinks we all might be overwhelmed by the hustle and bustle.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  3. Kari Says:

    Haylie isnt big on travel – she will not eat and takes for ever to potty if we are in a new place overnight. Now she will take her down command and lay there at a coffee shop and do just fine, we are trying to teach her not everyone that walks by wants to pet and love her!

  4. HoundDogMom Says:

    We don’t go a lot of places but I have been trying to get to the pet store and we have a few places in town that will allow your fur-end to dine with you in the outside patios. We have not done that yet, we for the most part just like to hang at home and go for daily walks. I know Arizona is very dog friendly. My brother-in-law has an English Mastif that he takes to the local bar with him to hang out. I wish mine would enjoy to be out, but when you have 3 it can be a challenge. Sniffs, The HoundDogs

  5. gmariesews Says:

    I used to take Dudley and Abby to meet friend at a coffee shop – there were outside tables. Dudley sat under the table and Abby laid – quite literally – in the middle of the sidewalk so people had to step over her or stop and pet her. Amazing how many people actually stop to greet her. g

  6. km Says:

    Holly has been to PetCo and PetSmart. She’s been with me to the boys’ fencing class. She’s been to the park. And she’s been on a walk that ended in dropping the kids off somewhere. Last week, M even took her with when he dropped of his car for service and walked the 2 miles home with her. I do want to bring her to *bucks or yoghurt, but I’d like for her to finish some more training. Some areas of LA are just as dog friendly as SF (specifically the beach areas).

    What we’re working on now is Holly letting people com to visit us at our house. While she minds her manners when we’re out, she’s very much the guard dog at home. I’ve had to crate her just to let a friend in the door.

  7. Kathy Says:

    Thanks for mentioning Lucy and her city adventures! She loves that dog park/bar “Boneyard” and we really should go more often. Most recently we took her to Austin (so dog-friendly) and she got to hang out on the patio while we drank coffee and tea and had muffins for breakfast.

    Now Houston lets dogs on patios if the restaurant has a permit. Here is a story from when it got started.
    http://www.chron.com/life/pets/article/Montrose-restaurant-gets-first-dogs-on-patio-city-2186077.php
    The list of those restaurants is growing longer. I think a trip to BRC with Lucy will be coming soon!
    http://www.brcgastropub.com/BRC/Welcome_to_BRC_Gastropub.html

  8. Bridget Says:

    Every weekend, Dug and I stop at a neighborhood coffee shop on our way to the dog park; he gets to be fussed over by the girls working there, and also get a free treat. He considers it a bonus when other dogs and/or little kids are there as well. I get my coffee, he gets his attention/treats, and we head to the park already happy!

    Even the places where you can’t take your pups inside around here have outside seating areas. And MANY places have free treats!

  9. Mary Says:

    No city trips for Jake & Abby. We did see a JRT on the shoulders of his elderly owner as they shambled into a pub in Notting Hill (London). After the pint was ordered they stepped outside and the JRT consumed it. Happy dog! Evidently it was a daiiy occurence.

  10. Sue Says:

    There are several restaurants that have outside seating and well behaved dogs are welcome. We like to take one or two at a time and they take turns. It’s amazing how good they can be when they’re out and it’s good socialization.

  11. Katherine Says:

    My mom takes me to the pet store to pick out my own toys. The store owners even let me sample some of the toys. Nice people! Max and I are well traveled pups and have been to some mighty fine hotels and outdoor restaurants. Max fits in a bag but I have to “sit and stay.” B-o-r-i-n-g!! I even went to Disney World but I had to stay in Shrek’s pet hotel while they went to the park. Love to travel with the peeps!
    Macy

  12. scrabblequeen Says:

    The closest we ever get to “on the town” is to go to the Farmer’s Market, which is downtown…at the City Park.
    Woofs. Sasha and Misty

  13. Nichole Says:

    I find myself doing far more dog watching than people watching whenever we’re traveling, vacationing, etc. While I’ve never taken the kids into the city with me, I love seeing all those hanging out while their parents dine or just chillin’ in the park. Zeus vacationed with us once way back when…. before the other 3 came along, of course. That was fun!

  14. Bubblesknits (@Bubblesknits) Says:

    There aren’t many dog friendly places in AL. :/ In fact, dogs aren’t even allowed on the beach down here. I don’t know if it’s all AL beaches, but all the ones we’ve ever been to won’t allow it. Makes me very, very sad.

  15. fern reed Says:

    My baby wouldn’t be so great in a city atmosphere!!!!! All my dogs for a lond while now get very comfortable in the woods!!

Leave a Reply

