In search of…

photo.JPGHappy Thorsday!  Gretchen Greer here.  We have a not so little problem in the woods.  Between Mama’s excuses and the heat that makes Sissy all draggy and panty, walks aren’t happening as often as they should.  We haven’t been IN the woods but once in the past 10 days.  HRMPH.

Mama says I’ve never been too hot.  Maybe not, but she still needs some help with the cooling off of the dogs on long walks thing.  Hound Girl has told her to get Sissy a cooling vest, but it hasn’t happened yet.   The boy-dogs who lived before us had cooling bandanas.  I don’t even like wearing my no-bugs neckerchief, so I’m not eager for that weight either, but Sis’s inability to deal with the heat is shortening *MY* walks too!

We’re also still trying to find the right water solution for all of us.  There’s a cool, old bottle with a “bowl” on top that’s great for short walks or not very warm days, and Mama just slings that on a strap, crossbody style.  She has a water backpack for our long walks on very hot days, but that hurts her back, so I think now, she’s going to try one of those hip holster thingees.   I don’t think it’s going to hold enough water either, and she’s still going to have to carry a bowl for us too.

Do you walk a lot when it’s hot?  What does your human do?  I’ve tried to explain to Mama we can just hop in one of the creeks or little streams, but she’s soooo hung up on snakes and potable water…

9 Responses to “In search of…”

  1. Woolpet Puppies « Chan Knits Says:

    […] I forget, Gretchen is whining  has a few questions for the dog walkers out […]

  2. Nichole Says:

    No walks for the Lapdogs when it’s that hot… although, as your Mama knows, our walking is limited to begin with. Good luck!

  3. Katherine Says:

    Gretchen girl, I feel your pain!! I love my sun bath everyday, but Mom doesn’t take us for walks when it is hot. She does let us play in the garden while she tends the plants. Well…maybe “lets us” is a stretch, but she tolerates my feet in the garden soil and just sprays me off when she sprays off her boots.

    I have a bottle/bowl thingy that goes on walks with us but Max tries to drink it all (and he does slobber a bit–yuk!). Then, we have our big water bowl outside. Tell Sissy I’m working on an umbrella/fan invention to help doggies chill while walking. If I build the whole thing into a tiara Sissy could be my test model. It’s a thought!!
    Smooches,
    Macy

  4. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    It is actually quite cool here today for a change, but it has been very warm. We usually walk late afternoon/early evening. But the deeper into summer we get, the later we walk. And then Mom says you have to deal with bugs. We don’t care as long as we get our walktime.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  5. km Says:

    Well, we took one walk on a too hot day (near 90) and Holly had hard time cooling off when we got home. She laid on the tile floor and wouldn’t budge. She even laid down to lap water from her bowl. I gave her a few ice cubes and that seemed to help.

    Holly seems to prefer a LARGE drinking bowl. I got a 3 gallon bucket for the back yard and I’m keeping the small bowl in the kitchen. That said, it seems that the little portable bowls aren’t deep enough for her liking when we’re on a walk. She drank from a solo plastic cup at an event the other night. I think even though it was small it was deep so she chose that. Every member of our family (except me) owns a camel back, but I’m not sure that I want to clean so many of those out to even keep the kids hydrated on a walk. We’ll stick to early or late when it warms up.

    Not sure how cool this will keep a dog, but I’ve been hopping out of the shower and taking my walk with wet hair that dries as we walk. It keeps me some cool. Last time Holly had a bath, we walked her to dry her off so she wouldn’t roll in the dirt in the yard. And while it is hot here we don’t have the humidity to deal with. Hope you find a good answer.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Most of our girl’s runs or walks occur early in the morning as the sun is coming up but I realize that’s not feasible for everyone. Luckily Rene has more days off than on so they run early most days. As for cooling off, he lets her get in any puddle or body of water they come across. When they are done she gets rinsed off and cooled down with a garden hose.

    Come Saturdays it’s back to the dog park to swim (definitely a cool thing) and a shower to wash off the road grime of the week.

  7. scrabblequeen Says:

    Here’s the sad truth, Gg…the hotter it gets, the fewer and shorter the walks. The folks, aka Mom, would have to get up pretty early to beat the heat, or go out way too late at night. So we suffer. Hope things look up for you two.
    Woofs…Sasha and Misty

  8. Mitch and Molly Says:

    We try to walk earlier when it’s that hot out and we only go 1.5 miles so mom doesn’t have to bring a water jug.
    The cooling vest sounds like a great idea!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  9. Sue Says:

    I thought Porties would like hot weather. Isn’t Portugal hot? They don’t so we don’t walk much on hot days. They like cold and ice. Go figure!

Leave a Reply

