One Kool Dog

Happy Thorsday! My how the week has flown.

Courtesy of Amazon

We have the best friends!  After I whined about trying to keep Sissy cool on our walks, her Auntie Sus sent a care package.  Sunday, we used the Kool Collar and I believe my exact words to Susan were, “I don’t know whether to thank you or not…”

DIVA was a wild woman until she – and the air – sucked up all the cool the collar had to offer.  (About an hour into our 2-hour hike in the woods, if you’re wondering.)  Clearly, it made her feel like a frisky fall morning…

We used the frozen gel pack, but we’re thinking that for the next hot day, long walk, we’re going to put the frozen gel pack in, and then add as much crushed ice (because cubes won’t fit with the gel pack in place) as we can fit in there and still close up the pocket. 

I know it worked, not only because she was full of herself, but also because Gg actually drank almost as much water as Sissy, which is highly unusual.  Hmmm…  I wonder if Gg would tolerate a small?  We had to go back to a 1/2″ collar for her tags; she HATED the bulky 3/4″ one, and I walk her in a harness, so we don’t need the extra security a wider collar would add.  I think the Knight likes it better than her long-standing Lupine pank argyle pattern; he changed her out as soon as they both hit the sofa, while I was still putting away groceries!

(Sorry… no photo.  It was late…) 

More from Amazon

Now I’m thinking Gg has embraced her camo princess side, and she needs this harness…  I was thinking about a mesh summer harness for her anyway.

Anyone have experience with Doggles harness sizing?  The two listings I’ve seen aren’t helpful, at least not to my brain.  Gg’s neck is a loose 11″ and her widest “girth” is a loose 14″.  (Hem.  Sorry wee one.  Mama needs help, and you are a tiny little thang…)

9 Responses to “One Kool Dog”

  1. Generic Thorsday Post « Chan Knits Says:

    […] girls’ blog features a post about a cooling collar that has helped Sissy weather the heat.  However, I’m stretched a […]

  2. gmariesews Says:

    Is she mortified you gave her measurements? Poor girl. How are you suppose to find stuff for her? Anyway – no, no experience with sizing or those harnesses. Nice to know the Kool Kollar worked – but how to keep it cool longer? What all are you packing with you? Yea – I’m trying to add more to your pack – miss mule 😉 g

  3. HoundDogMom Says:

    We may have to get a couple of them cool collars for the dogs when we do the waddle this year. Winston got over heated one year and scared the crap out of us. I will have to watch your blog about the new harness you are thinking about. I was looking at these as well because the current no-pull harness we use is not available anymore. Wasn’t sure how these would fit a basset, their shape is so unique. Sniffs, The HoundDogs

  4. Katherine Says:

    Yep G-girl, we Jack Russell Terriers are a tiny breed. My harness seems to get bigger and bigger as I walk, and Mom is always adjusting it. If you find one that fits well I would like to know about it. Mom bought two last summer and neither of them worked.

    As for your measurements, if you’ve got it flaunt it! Mom says she thinks I have lost weight but I’m just at my summer squirrel chasing weight. I think I need one of those cool thingys to make it more fun!

  5. Mary Says:

    I’m jealous, Sissy. I think I need a cool collar. Signed: not Abby or Jake.

  6. StarSpry Says:

    How great that the Kool Collar worked for Sissy! I hope you’re able to find a good collar for Gretchen, too. That camo mesh harness is pretty cute 🙂

  7. Susan, Says:

    Sissy, you are very welcome. Mom b’day is coming up, if you want really long walks, maybe you should get HER one for her b’day!!!

    Aunt Sus

  8. Sue Says:

    We have a cooling collar that we keep in the freezer, but my dogs find ways to keep cool, usually involving large amounts of water.

    Can you take Gg to one of the big stores in the area and try on harnesses to get an idea of sizing, then go home and order the style you like?

  9. Bubblesknits (@Bubblesknits) Says:

    Micro wants to know if you decide to try the harness. His little throat doesn’t have any hair on it and is super duper delicate. He was very offended when his PawPaw asked if he had a “skin condition”. He says he just keeps it smooth for the ladies. ; )

Leave a Reply

