Sit-on

July 2012 019Nope.  That’s not a typo.

Oh– ‘scuse me.  Gretchen is having a fit because I didn’t say happy Thorsday.  So, there you go.  Seems to me that lying trumps being polite; there’s not much happy in the Woods. 

In case you can’t tell, I Sissy-DIVA, Best in Show Mangominster ’11, have had to resort to composing my own post because Gretchen is a Mama’s girl and won’t fuss enough, not to mention she never says much worth saying by the time she gets done with all of her civilities and whatevers.

Anyway.  Two nights now, that crazed woman I call Mama has been way past dark getting home.  Why yes, Dadaw has been home with us, but what does that have to do with anything?!  And Dadaw keeps noting that it’s been too hot for afternoon walkies anyway, and Gg keeps getting Mama up earlier for longer morning walkies, but…

Y’all know where I’m coming from, right?  I am the Queen, and yet…  where’s the respect?  The duty? 

2011-07-15_23-01-11_775

The sit-on technique captured by a friend last summer

Never you fear doggybloggy fans.  I put Mama in her place last night.  She settled in on the sofa, and I climbed into her lap and pinned her there.  Dadaw laughed at me.  Just wait fella’.  I’ll get you next.  I’ve mastered my technique and have figured out how best to stage a sit-on strike.

How do you let your humans know they’re out of line?

8 Responses to “Sit-on”

  1. We are athletes too! « Chan Knits Says:

    […] of choice, I’d be remiss if I failed to note that Sissy is so worked up this week she composed her own post.  I’ve had busy weeks before, but for some reason, she’s knotted up over my meeting […]

  2. gMarie Says:

    Oh Sissy. You are precious. Thanks for the smile. g

  3. Katherine Says:

    Hello Sissy-DIVA girl, Macy here. I feel great pride in learning at the paws of the master, uh mistress, of sitting upon!! Sometimes I can’t get mom and dad to light long enough to even sit on them. It is then that I sprawl on the floor and whine loud and long. Mind you I am not a whiny pup, but being able to work up a good whimper does pay off at times. Give it a try!! Just fall down on the floor and start making sad, bellyache noises and see how they react instantly. You might ask Gretchen to show you. I would bet she was born knowing how to fake out the humans.

  4. Louise Says:

    Dear sweet Sissy, I have an empty lap that would happily snuggle with you.

    Don’t be too hard on Mamma. I’m sure she’s told you she’s “doing it for your own good” and in fact, she’s having fun while she’s at it!

  5. Mango Says:

    That is no way to treat a diva princess. Where is the love?

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  6. Nichole Says:

    Well, we’d be laughing, except Princess Sophie did the exact same thing to our Mama just the other day…

    Zeus, Lola, & Tut

  7. km Says:

    LOL! When you said she was 50lbs, I believed you but still thought that just couldn’t be right. Now seeing her on your lap…just makes me laugh.

  8. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA Says:

    What is the world coming to, when even The Queen can’t get the respectful attention she deserves? When Jed needs attention, he sits right in front of mama and, if she fails to respond, whaps her with his paw. Abby just lays on mama’s feet and rolls over to present her tummy for rubbing.

    Read your post about the new dog food you won and your concerns about kibble vs. canned. Mama has always mixed our food so we get kibble and meat. However, she doesn’t use canned food. When she had Danes, she used to cook a roast and a whole chicken every week, then cut them up for adding to kibble over the coming week. With Abby’s chronic pancreatitis and consequent need for a low fat diet, mama now uses frozen grilled chicken breasts with no additives and 98% fat free, or hard boiled eggs. Low fat dairy – yogurt or cottage cheese – would also be good if Abby weren’t allergic to dairy.

    Eating kibble does NOT keep doggie teeth clean. Mama used to think that, too, until her vet disabused her of the notion. Dogs mostly gobble rather than chew food and the kibble isn’t hard enough or chewed enough to debris the teeth. Best bet is to train mama how to brush your teeth, plus if your health allows, a regular weekly appointment with a good, hard, raw beef bone. That’s enough for Abby; Jed still has to have his teeth professionally cleaned every so often.

    So happy Sissy’s eye check-up was so good! And mazel tov to Gg for learning to react so minimally to all those external stimuli that used to bother her so much. Good work, ladies!

    Jed & Abby

Leave a Reply

