Yellow Day

Today’s a yellow-letter day in Doggy Bloggyland.  The humans have Livestrong and a bunch of other let’s fight cancer together sites and organizations, but the pets have We Livestrong Today.

Beauty Boy 2I guess I’ve been too wrapped up in my own little world.  I know I’ve seen that moving, powerful graphic before, but I can’t believe I’ve missed this cause two years running.  You see…  it was almost five years ago to the day that our Fred was rushed to the Vet ER, and three days later, we had to help him cross Rainbow Bridge because they couldn’t manage his pain. 

I wish we’d had time to fight, but Fred did cancer on his own terms, which is how he lived his entire life.   I still mourn for our beloved Hooey, talk to him daily, and am grateful for the bassetitude he brought to our lives.  He hated for me to cry, so I have to end rather abruptly.

Livestrong, for Fred and everyone affected by cancer.

 

4 Responses to “Yellow Day”

  1. Colors and Causes « Chan Knits Says:

    […] a post up on the girls’ blog about today’s Livestrong Day rally.   Cancer deserves all the […]

  2. fernerose Says:

    We are trying everyday!! I read a lot about fighting cancer and they say you can ward off cancer with diet and that is what we are trying to do!!! We are eating organic greens everyday and some times 2 times a day!! I even feed my dogs greens when I had dogs!!

  3. Nichole Says:

    Wonderful post… and great tribute to Fred!

  4. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    One day we hope we can boot that evil cancer out of the world for good. Fred was a very strong boy, he knew how to live strong. So sorry for your loss.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

Leave a Reply

