Mama’s Little Helper

photo.JPGHappy Thorsday!  Last weekend while doing laundry, Sissy began stalking me.  Our laundry room is tiny, but there she was.  (No, she doesn’t fit under the dryer door and yes, she insists that we try every time…)  Finally, I realized she was doing what I would call “tattling” if Gretchen was doing it, so we walked into the living room, and saw something like the photo to the left.

Why yes, she *IS* blurry, because she’s frolicking in my CLEAN clothes.

Yes, I did put the clothes on the sofa, but seriously!?  Even Sissy knew it was wrong.  And if you don’t know Sis or any other basset hound, they have really, REALLY pathetic morals.

photo.JPGThe first photo was actually load #2.  This photo was from load #1, but it wasn’t as cute as the queen on her throne action I saw when I followed upset Sissy into the living room…

Why yes indeedy, you do see clothes spilling into the floor.  Hem.  At least she had the good graces to look less than comfortable in this photo.

Do you have special helpers who aren’t so helpful?

7 Responses to “Mama’s Little Helper”

  1. Pillow talk « Chan Knits Says:

    […] I’d be remiss if I didn’t note that I have all kinds of help at home too.   They’re at work with us today, and it’s impossible to be too morose when you  […]

  2. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    Ha, Ciara is a champion at finding the pile of clean clothes. And Lightning is very helpful in making sure that Mom always has plenty of muddy towels to wash so Ciara can then help sleep in them:)

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  3. Sue Says:

    Sky used to like to steal socks out of the basket after they came out of the dryer. I like to warm blankets for my pack in the dryer just before bed so they’re all interested in what comes out of that big box.

  4. Katherine Says:

    Hello Gretchen, Macy here. I want to know what it is that humans don’t understand about the zen of rolling in clean, warm clothes? What’s the big mystery? The clothes are clean! The clothes are warm! The clothes are fair game!! I tell you, it is all about the “humans can do this but doggies can’t” thing. Just this morning I was fast asleep with my head on daddy’s pillow (yes I WAS under the covers) and was rudely awakened. “Off limits” I was told! Well, I say, if daddy does it why can’t I?

    We must train them better! Hang in there girl!!
    Smooches,
    Macy

  5. gmariesews Says:

    I think Macy might have a point. I know I’ve told you the Dudley laundry story. Still makes me smile. Dudley was about 1 1/2 and the back door was open on a lovely spring day. I had laundry piled on the sofa folding it when JB called asking if I could help him. Then I got interested in something and sat down in the room with him. Dudley was running outside (flat out basset run) then into the house, jumping up on my and would run out and do it again. When I finally went to see what he was doing – JBs boxers were all over the back lawn. Dudley had been leaving me, grabbing a pair of boxers taking them outside and then coming to tell me. He was so proud of himself. 🙂 g

  6. km Says:

    Holly LOVES to help with the laundry. She also likes to help put the groceries in the fridge….or take them out. And sometimes a kid will let her help with the dishes. They do know that dishes that have been licked aren’t clean enough to go back in the cupboard. ;0)

  7. Kathy Says:

    I’m behind reading the girls’ blog! Just catching up.

    I have lots of help when I load dirty dishes into the dishwasher. My pup likes to give them a bit of pre-rinse with her big tongue if she can get away with it.

Leave a Reply

