Lest They Forget

January 2012 007Queen Sissy DIVA, Best in Show 2011 here.   Happy Thorsday!  Every once in a while, the staff – also known as Mama and Dadaw – need to be reminded who is in charge. 

Oh, I do appreciate that Mama insists upon delaying our walks when it is very warm.  And I am grateful for Dadaw’s sharing nature – except for his pillow.  The man is downright rude about his pillow.  Claims I heat it up and then he can’t get to sleep.  Have you ever heard such nonsense?!

But sometimes, I just have to assert my authority.  Here’s my favorite way to do it.

Last night, I slipped up on the sofa and put my head in Mama’s lap.  Then, when she put the laptop down, I climbed into her lap.  Then, she knew what was coming and started to try to name her terms, but it was too late; I assumed the position. 

Oh, I wish Dadaw would get a photo.   I put my front feet on the arm of the sofa, and my bottom in Mama’s lap, and I hold that pose as long as I can, even as she fusses.  In fact, the more she fusses, the happier it makes me. 

Of course, you gotta’ crane your neck around and make kissy-face with her.  That makes her laugh and gives me an extension on the amount of time I can enforce my authority.

How do you remind the humans who is in charge?

8 Responses to “Lest They Forget”

  1. Senior Dogs « Chan Knits Says:

    […] topic is addressed exclusively on this blog.  Not only is the DIVA in denial about her age, but she’s in a MOOD and is asserting herself all over the […]

  2. scrabblequeen Says:

    Lol…Sasha here…I’ve been climbing in laps and refusing to take no for an answer with any human of my choice forever. Do some not do this? Shocking thought!

  3. Mitch and Molly Says:

    That is such a perfect picture of you, Sissy! Your dadaw really does need to snag this sofa picture because we NEED to see it!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  4. sue Says:

    We have them outnumbered.
    Morgan, Sebastian, the Porties, Syd and Mac

  5. Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning Says:

    Sissy, somehow we all think that your Mama really loves it when you do this:)

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  6. Katherine Says:

    We definitely need to see a picture of that!! Sissy is so cute in her tiara. We gave up fighting it long ago because we know the fur kids are in charge. Macy is very quiet about her ruling role but Max just “talks” to us until we give in and say, “okay, anything you want!”

  7. Nichole Says:

    ha ha – nice one Sissy!

  8. Nancy Says:

    How sweet – I hope the Knight can capture this in a photo.

Leave a Reply

