How do our dogs see us?

Untitled

The DIVA doesn’t cover her grey!

Last week, I rather unintentionally went from blonde to “warm brown” (read: auburn?) hair in the course of a few hours.  I came home from work, took the dogs for a quick run, and headed to the salon.  I knew I had gotten too blonde (because yes to the co-worker who is also my hubby’s best friend, I *DO* know what my natural color is [medium, blah brown]), and I knew I wanted to fix that…

… and I trust my stylist.  I mean, she’s a dog person.  When she changed salons a few months ago, the first thing she said was, “… and if you want to bring one of the girls with you, that’s totally fine!”  Anyway, I was shocked that the dogs didn’t seem to notice.

I don’t believe dogs are color or even necessarily shade blind.  My JRTs have ALWAYS had a color preference on toys, and Gretchen can distinguish PANK (her signature hot pink) from orange.  So, I’m pretty sure they knew Mama had done something to her head, but they didn’t react.

They *DO* react to what I wear.  They know running tights from street wear leggings.  They know I *NEVER* wear footies unless a walk or a run is in order, and – over share ahead – they know a sports bra from normal lingerie.  So, I find it really hard to believe they didn’t notice my hair color change.

Do your dogs notice differences in your appearance?

 

5 Responses to “How do our dogs see us?”

  1. Bits and Bobs « Chan Knits Says:

    […] And no, I didn’t forget Thorsday… never will, even when I can’t manage to get a post up.  I have a question for you over on the girls’ blog… […]

  2. Mitch and Molly Says:

    We notice what mom is wearing all the time and if it isn’t jeans and it happens to be nylon stockings and a skirt than we KNOW something is just not right!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  3. Mary Says:

    The only thing we notice is when Dad has left the building (he works at home). Mom…well, she’s gone before we get up and gone for 12 hours a day, so we don’t notice her so much unless she shows up with a treat.

    Of course, I (Abby the Doberman) notice at night when my body pillow (aka Mom) doesn’t put her legs in just the right position so they can wrap around me, but I don’t really care what she wears.

    Jake and Abby

  4. scrabblequeen Says:

    Seriously? We know mom’s robe from her clothes and dad’s shoes from his slippers, and we hates hats!
    Sasha and Misty

  5. Katherine Says:

    Macy and Max know where I am going and how long I’ll be gone from what I wear, and they react accordingly. Also, it’s amazing to me that they know what day it is. our cleaning lady comes on Wednesday and without me doing anything I don’t ordinarily do on any other day, they start “preparing” for her as soon as they wake up in the morning. By 10:00 when she usually arrives they are asleep on the rug in front of the door. They never sleep there any other day.

    I’m so afraid of stray dogs attacking them while we are walking!! Max would run the other way but Macy would wade into a battle and possibly be badly hurt! She at least would get her licks in before going down.

Leave a Reply

